Main Navigation

Section Navigation

Murray-Darling Basin Plan

The final Murray-Darling Basin Plan was signed into law by the Federal Water Minister, Tony Burke on 22 November 2012 and tabled in the Parliament on 26 November 2012. 

On 27 February 2014, the New South Wales and Queensland Governments were the last to sign the Intergovernmental Agreement on Implementing Water Reform in the Murray-Darling Basin and an amended National Partnership Agreement.  The New South Wales Government had been holding off signing the IGA until it was satisfied a number of conditions relating to the implementation of the Basin Plan were going to be met. These included a cap on the volume of water recovered through buyback, giving priority to infrastructure and environmental works and measures to meet the remaining recovery volumes and increasing the sustainable diversion limits on two brackish groundwater aquifers. The basin agreement includes an additional $80 million funding over the next eight years which will go towards developing further infrastructure and water management projects, water resource plans and other activities.

The focus has shifted to the implementation phase of the Basin Plan and ensuring water is recovered for the environment through methods that cause the least harm to local businesses and the community. The Basin Plan will be implemented over the next six years to allow time for basin states, communities and the Government to work together to manage the changes required for a healthy working basin.

 Link MI-arrow-yellow.gif The Basin Plan (MDBA website)

For further information, contact:  

Phone: 02 6279 0100 
Fax:02 6248 8053 
Postal Address: GPO Box 1801       
Canberra City 2601

NSW Irrigators' Council 
Phone: (02) 9251 8466 
Fax: (02) 9251 8477

National Irrigators' Council 
Phone: 02 6273 3637 
Level 2, NFF House 
14-16 Brisbane Avenue 
Barton  ACT 2600

Site Information