Main Navigation

Section Navigation

Board of Directors

  Nayce Dalton - Chair

Nayce Dalton was appointed to the Board as a shareholder-elected Director in 2013, and as MI Chair in March 2019. Nayce and his family manage a successful mixed farming business in Binya, which has been operating for over 30 years. He is currently Chair of Murrumbidgee Irrigation Limited and group property company MI Holdings Pty Ltd.

  Brett Jones - Managing Director

Brett Jones commenced as Chief Executive Officer in October 2015 and was appointed to the Board as Managing Director in July 2016. Brett is an experienced executive with qualifications in engineering, project management and finance. He is also a director of MI Holdings Pty Ltd.

  Hayden Cudmore - Deputy Chair - Shareholder-elected director

Hayden Cudmore was appointed to the Board as a shareholder-elected Director in 2017, and as Deputy Chair in March 2019. He has been farming at Benerembah for the past 36 years. Hayden has had 17 years’ experience at the Rice Growers Association (RGA) and previously represented the RGA at various rice and water industry forums. He is also a member of the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation. 

  Peter Borrows - Independent director

Peter Borrows was appointed as an Independent Director in 2015. He is the former CEO of Queensland Bulk Supply Authority (Seqwater) and was MI’s CEO from July 2013 to July 2015. Peter is MI’s alternate delegate for the National Irrigators’ Council. 

  Kaye Dalton - Independent director

Kaye Dalton was appointed in 2014 as an Independent Director. Kaye has over 25 years’ experience in the water sector, including water policy and reform, development of water infrastructure projects and stakeholder engagement. Kaye is MI’s alternate delegate for the NSW Irrigators’ Council and is a director of MI Holdings Pty Ltd. 

  Antonio (Tony) Sergi - Shareholder-elected director

Tony Sergi was appointed to the Board as a shareholder-elected Director in 2005. He has been a horticultural farmer for over 40 years in the MIA growing and exporting prunes, grapes, peaches and vegetables. 

  Michael Carter - Independent director

Michael Carter was appointed as an Independent director at the 2019 AGM. Michael is an experienced Director and has held positions on a range of ASX listed, private company and joint venture boards. He is a qualified engineer and financial planner and is the former Managing Director of Bridges Financial Services. 

  Tracey Valenzisi - Shareholder-elected director

Tracey Valenzisi was appointed as a Shareholder-elected director at the 2019 AGM. Tracey has qualifications in business and a background in dry land and horticultural farming. She has worked in all sectors of Government and the private sector, acquiring knowledge of business, staff, financial management and customer service. She also served as a Leeton Shire Councillor for eight years. 


Directors are responsible to shareholders for the short and longer term performance of the company, and seek to balance sometimes competing objectives in the best interests of the company as a whole. The Board is comprised of seven or eight directors.

  • The four shareholder-elected directors are directly elected by postal ballot.
  • The directors appoint the three Independent Directors.
  • All Independent Director appointments are subject to shareholder confirmation.
  • All directors appoint the Managing Director (if the CEO is invited to join the Board).
  • All directors except the Managing Director elect the Chairman.

Site Information