Board of Directors

The MI Board is comprised of seven or eight directors, with a mix of shareholder and independent directors. They are responsible to shareholders and seek to balance sometimes competing objectives in the best interests of the company.

The Board is elected in the following way:

  • The four shareholder-elected directors are directly elected by postal ballot, and must be current shareholders.
  • The directors appoint the three Independent Directors.
  • All Independent Director appointments are subject to shareholder confirmation.
  • All Directors appoint the Managing Director (if the CEO is invited to join the Board).
  • All Directors, with the exception of the Managing Director, elect the Chairman.
Tracey Valenzisi_webphoto24

Tracey Valenzisi: Chair
Tracey Valenzisi was appointed as a Shareholder-elected director at the 2019 AGM. Tracey has qualifications in business and a background in dry land and horticultural farming. She has worked in all sectors of Government   and the private sector, acquiring knowledge of business, staff, financial management and customer service. She also served as a Leeton Shire Councillor for eight years.

Brett Jones_webphoto24 Brett Jones: Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director
Brett Jones commenced as Chief Executive Officer in October 2015 and was appointed to the Board as Managing Director in July 2016. Brett is an experienced executive with qualifications in engineering, project management and finance. He is also a director of MI Holdings Pty Ltd.
Grant Delves_webphoto24 Grant Delves: Shareholder-elected director
Grant Delves was appointed to the Board as a shareholder-elected Director in 2021. The Delves family have been farming in the MIA for over 100 years producing citrus, grapes, prunes, rice, and wheat crops as well as cattle. Grant has been actively involved with the Australian Prune Industry Association for many years, formerly as its Chair and currently as a member of the executive.
Lil Bianchi_webphoto24 Lil Bianchi: Independent director
Lil Bianchi was appointed as an Independent Director in November 2021. Lil has extensive Board experience which includes merino growers’ block chain, micropayments system and microelectronics, and a strong background in technology including six years as CEO of a data analytics product company.
Hayley Sergi_webphoto24 Hayley Sergi: Shareholder-elected director
Hayley Sergi was appointed to the Board as a shareholder-elected Director in 2021. She owns and manages an irrigated farming business with her husband, producing rice, cotton, grain and sheep. She was also a pharmacist for 18 years.
Michael Carter_webphoto24 Michael Carter: Independent director
Michael Carter was appointed as an Independent director at the 2019 AGM. Michael is an experienced Director and has held positions on a range of ASX listed, private company and joint venture boards. He is a qualified engineer and financial planner and is the former Managing Director of Bridges Financial Services. 
Niall Blair_webphoto24 Niall Blair: Independent director
Niall Bliar was appointed as an Independent director at the 2023 AGM. Holding a Bachelor of Horticultural Science and a Masters of Occupational Health and Safety, Niall is an experienced company director in a range of sectors. His experience includes a unique combination of local knowledge, government experience, industry leadership, commitment to sustainability, and corporate governance skills.
John Houghton_webphoto24 John Houghton: Shareholder-elected director
John Houghton was appointed to the Board as a shareholder-elected Director in 2023. He owns and manages an irrigated farming business with his wife, in Gogeldrie.

Contact Us

We'd love to to hear from you. Please contact us using this form and we will respond as quickly as possible.


Mandatory field(s) marked with *

General Enquiries

Phone: (02) 6962 0200
Postal: Locked Bag 6010 Griffith NSW 2680

More Info